Sushi Burrito – Identity Crisis

Rolltation – 2291 Yonge St, Toronto, ON M4P 2C6

Sushi burritos.  I don’t get it.  Isn’t it just a massive sushi roll?  Why is this even a thing?

I was in the Yonge & Eglinton area and was curious about why sushi burritos is now so insanely popular, so I decided to check out Rolltation.   Went in around lunch time and they had a line out the door!  Wow! 

Their menu is easy to navigate as it is broken up into signature burritos/poke or you can create your own in 6 simple steps. 1. Choose your base – burrito, poke or salad; 2. Choose your protein; 3. Choose your veggies; 4. Choose your sauces; 5. Choose your toppings; 6. Choose your crunch.  No one is going to tell me what to put in my sushi burrito!!…so I decided to create my own.  There were tons of veggies, toppings and sauce for you to choose from, which was pretty neat.  I had one with salmon, corn, kale and a whole bunch of other toppings.  

As I bit into it, I still couldn’t wrap my head around the concept.  Is it a salad wrapped in seaweed and rice? Or is it a massive sushi roll?  I can’t decide.  The sushi burrito itself was tasty and flavourful but it’s not something I will get again.  Nothing against Rolltation, but I just don’t get the concept.

Service was quick, as they had tons of employees working and it was basically an assembly line.

tl;dr: good food, don’t get the concept, good service

2 thoughts on “Sushi Burrito – Identity Crisis

Leave a Reply

